My Account
FREE Shipping on purchases above Rs.59910% Discount on Purchases above Rs.999 - use “MELTAT999”

Lactose-free Chocolates - A Delicious Way to Enjoy Good Health

Posted by BeeTee's Melt on

Do you have a milk allergy? A sensitivity to dairy products that makes your stomach turn? Or do you just not like the taste of milk or the way it feels in your mouth for some reason.

In any of these cases, there is good news for you.

Lactose-free milk chocolate is available in the market today. This type of chocolate doesn't have any lactose or dairy content at all and can be truly enjoyed by people with a mild intolerance to some sugars found in cow's milk.

Chocolate

Chocolate is a deep brown or black confection produced from the seed of the tropical Theobroma cacao tree. Chocolate is made from roasted cocoa beans.

It is produced by combining the fermented and grounded cocoa beans or cocoa nibs with sugar, cocoa butter, and other ingredients such as milk.

Why milk is added to Chocolates?

It's believed that early civilizations began creating chocolate because they noticed that when beans from the Theobroma cacao tree were embedded into other foods or cooked with them, their digestion became easier.

Milk is a dairy product that consists of fat globules suspended in a watery solution. These fat globules add viscosity to the milk and also trap other flavor compounds such as sugars and amino acids.

Milk is added to chocolates as it gives a smooth texture and also enhances the taste of chocolate. The quality of the milk as well as that of its fat content will affect the taste and texture to a great extent.

Milk is often used as an emulsifier to prevent the cocoa and sugar particles from separating.   Milk proteins, known as casein, act as stabilizers here because they contain large numbers of hydrophobic (water-fearing) amino acid residues.

Milk also contains lipids (fats) and these fats include short-chain fatty acids like butyric acid which enhance 'mouthfeel' or feelings in one's mouth regarding taste and texture.

Lactose-free chocolate

Lactose-free chocolate is chocolate that does not use any milk substitutes as ingredients.

Lactose is a type of sugar that occurs naturally in cow's milk. There are two types of Lactose-free chocolate,

  1. Vegan Milk Chocolate
  2. Dark Chocolate

Some chocolates are suitable for vegans, Kosher, and Halal diets.

Vegan Milk Chocolates

Vegan Milk chocolates are alternatives for people who do not eat dairy products.

The ingredients used in the preparation of vegan chocolate are mostly plant-based and do not contain animal products.

This type of chocolate does not contain any milk or other dairy-related products which makes it suitable for vegans as well as lactose-intolerant people.

Alternative non-dairy ingredients include soy milk, rice milk, coconut milk, and other plant milk such as almond milk, hazelnut milk.

Dark Chocolates

Dark chocolate is a dark brown confection produced from cocoa beans or cocoa nibs and sugar, with no milk added.

Dark chocolate contains at least 70% cocoa or above that level. It has less sugar content but more cocoa content as compared to milk chocolate.

It's called 'dark' because it has a low bitterness due to the high concentration of cocoa content in the form of cocoa nibs. It also contains large amounts of cocoa butter which gives it a slightly "melt-in-your-mouth" sensation.

Dark chocolate is basically a type of chocolate with high cocoa content and no milk content.

How Lactose-free chocolate is made?

The preparation methods of chocolates with dairy and those without remain similar.

However, the ingredients used in the preparation of non-dairy or vegan chocolates are mostly plant-based and do not use any milk substitutes as ingredients.

Lactose-free chocolate is made from cocoa beans that are fermented, roasted, and ground. Cocoa butter is a natural vegetable fat extracted from cocoa beans by pressing them together. These two parts are then mixed with sugar and other flavors if needed.

Why Lactose-free Chocolates?

Lactose is one of the most common sugar molecules found in milk and milk products.

Lactose intolerance refers to a condition where an individual has difficulty digesting lactose because he/she does not produce enough lactase enzyme that breaks down lactose into simpler forms like glucose and galactose.  

This undigested lactose then passes through the digestive system without being broken down which causes indigestion, gas, bloating, nausea, watery stool, diarrhea, and other symptoms.

This is a very common issue in the world that affects at least 65 million people. Those affected have difficulty digesting lactose from dairy-related products which causes all kinds of gastrointestinal problems.

Lactose intolerance can be kept under control by avoiding milk and milk products altogether but this reduces the intake of calcium in a person's diet. This is because milk contains high amounts of calcium which benefits our bones and teeth when taken regularly for a long time.

Those who are lactose intolerant can opt for lactose-free chocolates as an alternative to regular chocolate without compromising on their calcium intake throughout the day. These chocolate brands substitute milk with plant-based products like almond milk, rice milk, soy milk, etc.

Is Dark chocolate and Lactose-free chocolate the same?

Not always!!

Dark chocolate is basically a type of chocolate with high cocoa content and no milk content. It contains 70% or more cocoa solids and sometimes less sugar and fat content.

On the other hand, Lactose-free chocolate is made from plant-based ingredients that substitute for dairy products. They contain non-dairy milk such as soy milk, coconut milk, or coconut sugar instead of regular cow's milk.

There is only one similarity between dark chocolate and lactose-free chocolate - High-quality cocoa is used in both types for better taste and flavor.

Lactose-free chocolate is always vegan and composed of alternative non-dairy ingredients.

Health benefits of Lactose-free Chocolates

Aside from the obvious benefit of not causing any allergic reactions or digestive issues, lactose-free chocolates also have other benefits that regular milk chocolate does not offer. Some of the health benefits are,

Anti-oxidant capability

Lactose-free chocolates are filled with anti-oxidants. Anti-oxidants scavenge the body to remove any harmful molecules that can damage cells which in turn cause aging and other illnesses. As anti-oxidants start to diminish when you hit 25, consuming lots of lactose-free chocolates will help replenish these anti-oxidants inside your body.

Lowers cholesterol levels

Cholesterol is a waxy substance that sticks on the walls of arteries which in turn causes high blood pressure and strokes. Lactose-free chocolates do not contain milk thus minimizing the amount of saturated fat found in milk chocolate. Milk contains large amounts of dairy which is high in bad fats while lactose-free chocolates have very minimal amounts of these bad fats which help in lowering cholesterol levels.

Prevention from heart diseases

Large studies conducted on people who often eat chocolate show that there is a low incidence rate of suffering from heart diseases. Not only do lactose-free chocolates taste good, but it also promotes heart health when consumed regularly.

Digestive issues

Gastrointestinal discomfort and digestive issues such as bloating, gas, and stomach cramps caused by regular milk chocolate.

Skin conditions

Skin conditions such as acne because there are fewer chances of allergic reactions when you use lactose-free chocolates.

Lowers blood sugar levels

Lactose-free chocolates, however, only have trace amounts if any of milk thus minimizing the chance of getting diabetes.

Suppresses appetite

As you know by now, lactose-free treats are easy to digest which means that they do not linger inside your body for long periods of time. People who often suffer from eating disorders such as obesity would benefit greatly from consuming lots of these treats because they do not feel heavy on their stomachs or bloated.

Lactose-free chocolate vs Dairy-free chocolate

There is a common misconception that lactose-free chocolates and dairy-free chocolates are the same.

This is far from the truth, however. While both types of chocolate do not contain milk but they also don't have similar ingredients.

Dairy-free chocolate is made from cocoa butter which is derived from the flesh of Cocoa beans. On the other hand, lactose-free chocolates are also made using cocoa butter but they are produced using plant ingredients that substitute for dairy products for people who cannot digest lactose.

As mentioned earlier, dairy-free chocolate is basically a vegan version of milk chocolate. They are made from cocoa butter, non-dairy milk (soy, coconut, etc.), and vegan sugar that help give it the same taste like regular milk chocolates.

Milk Chocolate vs Lactose-Free Chocolate

The main differences between milk chocolate and Lactose-free chocolate are,

Ingredients

Lactose-free chocolates are usually made up of cocoa butter and plant ingredients while milk chocolate contains dairy products so if you are lactose intolerant it is best to watch out for ingredients. Plant ingredients, on the other hand, substitute for regular dairy products so there's no need to worry about digestive problems.

Taste and Texture

While both types of chocolate taste sweet they also differ in texture. Milk chocolate has a creamier texture than lactose-free chocolates which can be attributed to their difference in composition.

Allergy

Milk chocolate contains dairy products while lactose-free chocolates do not which means that people who are lactose intolerant can enjoy it without worrying about digestive discomfort.

Lastly, allergies. Lactose-free chocolates contain alternative non-dairy-based products that help make them suitable for people who suffer from lactose intolerance whereas milk chocolates could trigger allergic reactions.

Conclusion

The lactose-free chocolates are one of the best things you can have in your life if you want to avoid any dairy products.

It is not necessary for the people who cannot digest milk sugar to go through a tough time looking for food that does not contain it. With these items, all your needs and desires will be fulfilled.

BeeTee's Melt Chocolates - Lactose-free Chocolates

BeeTee's Melt Chocolates are made from pure cocoa beans. Enjoy the lactose-free dark chocolates made from palm sugar and real cocoa beans and it is dairy-free chocolate.

All the chocolates are 100% Preservative free, Refined Sugar-free, and Soy Free. All the Dark chocolates are Vegan and gluten-free and are made with high-quality cacao beans with all-natural ingredients in micro-batches.

Chocolate Dark Chocolate Vegan

← Older Post Newer Post →



Leave a comment